China oil data – June 2019

Published at 13:56 29 Jul 2019 by . Last edited 11:18 22 Aug 2019.

Users licensed for the data service can access our China crude data and our China products data.

Implied oil demand in June hit 13.04 mb/d, up y/y by 0.44 mb/d (3.5%) despite slowing economic growth. Actual demand (adjusted for stock changes) was likely higher than implied data suggest, at 13.13 mb/d (+0.51 mb/d y/y), as refiners drew stocks during maintenance season.

Apparent gasoline demand reached 3.32 mb/d in June, 60 thousand b/d (1.8%) lower y/y. Weakness in car sales continues to weigh on demand growth, but we expect the contraction in car sales to decelerate after the switch to the China VI standard (effective 1 July).

Chinese apparent diesel demand reached 3.45 mb/d in June, 0.32 mb/d lower y/y. Actual demand was likely much stronger, according to anecdotal reports, with stocks low. Domestic diesel prices have also been supported by tighter supplies. We expect demand to strengthen

China’s crude imports rose m/m by 0.16 mb/d to 9.66 mb/d in June on new storage filling. Imports from Saudi Arabia reached a record high of 1.88 mb/d on Hengli’s ramp-up, while arrivals from Venezuela and Iran remained muted.

China was a net exporter of products in June at 61 thousand b/d, after the second batch of products export quotas awarded in May allowed refiners to push out products from an oversupplied domestic market into export markets. However, we expect product exports to be lower m/m in July, particularly for gasoline and diesel, with majors lowering runs.   

Crude production in June hit 3.93 mb/d, rising y/y by 59 thousand b/d as higher Capex helped stabilise output. In 2019, we forecast that domestic production will be 3.85 mb/d, rising y/y by 57 thousand b/d.

 

 

Log in to download

Other Data review publications

Norway oil data – Oct 2019

Published 1 hour ago

2019-11 Oil - Data review - Norway oil data – Oct 2019 cover
Users licensed for the data service can access our Norway oil production data.Norwegian..

Read more

Middle East oil demand - Sep 2019

Published 19 hours ago

2019-11 Oil - Data review - Middle East oil demand - Sep 2019 cover
Users licensed for the data service can access our Middle East oil data.Oil demand..

Read more

Europe oil data - Sep 2019

Published 19 hours ago

2019-11 Oil - Data review - Europe oil data - Sep 2019 cover
Users licensed for the data service can access our Europe oil data.Extract from demand:European o..

Read more

Canada oil data – Sep 2019

Published 3 days ago

2019-11 Oil - Data review - Canada oil data cover
We forecast that Canadian liquids production was lower m/m by 85 thousand b/d in September but hi..

Read more

Rig report

Published 3 days ago

No cover
Within this report you will be able to review the latest figures published by Baker Hughes by oil..

Read more