OPEC oil data – Apr 2019

Published at 11:02 15 May 2019 by

We estimate that OPEC production was marginally higher m/m (+80 thousand b/d) at 29.98 mb/d in April, which was the first increase since November 2018. In y/y terms, output was down by a sizable 1.55 mb/d. However, compliance with the OPEC+ deal rose to 136% in April, from 125% in March, as core OPEC producers continued to overcomply with their targets, while production gains were concentrated in Libya and Venezuela, which are not bound by the output agreement.

The largest m/m increase was recorded by Libya, where output was up for the third straight month, this time by 0.14 mb/d to 1.06 mb/d. Output continued to recover on the back of the resumption of operations at the 0.30 mb/d Sharara oilfield, which has been closed until March, and remained unaffected by military clashes around Tripoli. Venezuela also recorded a m/m increase, of 80 thousand b/d, as the authorities managed to somewhat improve power supply across the country. However, we expect a decline in May, after the US tightened sanctions on Venezuelan crude exports, extending their scope to non-US entities. Iraq’s production increased m/m by 30 thousand b/d to 4.58 mb/d (52% compliance).

The largest m/m decline was in Iran, where production fell m/m by 0.1 mb/d to 2.5 mb/d. This fall was due to the US decision on 22 April to let sanctions waivers expire on 1 May, which pushed buyers to reduce their imports in the latter half of April. We expect Iranian production to gradually decline in the coming months, reaching around 2 mb/d by the end of the year. Exports will fall sharply from May, perhaps to even below our expectation of 0.6 mb/d, but Iran will fill onshore and offshore storage and raise domestic refinery runs to delay shutting in output. Kuwait also reduced its production m/m, by 40 thousand b/d to 2.68 mb/d (152% compliance), as it continued to overcomply with the OPEC+ deal. Saudi Arabia maintained its production m/m at 9.8 mb/d (259% compliance), but we expect Kingdom’s output to rise to 10 mb/d in May and 10.2 mb/d in June, which is still below their quota level.

The average of third-party estimates we collect shows OPEC output unchanged m/m at 30.17 mb/d in April. The main difference with our estimates was Saudi Arabia raising output m/m by 20 thousand b/d to 9.85 mb/d, while we estimate that output was unchanged m/m.

We expect total OPEC production to fall to 29.9 mb/d in Q2 19, after declining to 30.5 mb/d in Q1 19 as production in Venezuela and Iran goes down. Libyan and Venezuelan production will be the main wild cards, with rising political tensions in these countries potentially leading to further output drops. In Q3 19, total OPEC production should increase, reaching 30.8 mb/d as expectations of higher runs necessitate higher OPEC output.

Log in to download

Other Data review publications

Rig report

Published 1 day ago

No cover
Within this report you will be able to review the latest figures published by Baker Hughes by oil..

Read more

Europe oil data – May 2019

Published 2 days ago

2019-07 Oil - Data review - Europe oil data – May 2019 cover
Extract from demand:European oil demand continued to decline in May, falling y/y by 0.67 mb/d to..

Read more

Middle East oil demand – May 2019

Published 2 days ago

2019-07 Oil - Data review - Middle East oil demand – May 2019 cover
Users licensed for the data service can access our Middle East oil data.Oil demand in the 10 top-..

Read more

US Department of Energy

Published 3 days ago

2019-07 Oil - Data review - US Department of Energy cover
Extract from crude oil:Despite an enormous total commercial inventory build (12 mb), crude stocks..

Read more

Canada oil data – May 2019

Published 4 days ago

2019-07 Oil - Data review - Canada oil data – May 2019 cover
Users licensed for the data service can access our Canadian oil production data&nb..

Read more