OPEC oil data – Aug 2018

Published at 11:39 13 Sep 2018 by . Last edited 15:12 5 Nov 2018.

We estimate that OPEC production went up m/m by 0.48 mb/d to 32.96 mb/d in August, higher y/y by just 20 thousand b/d. Nevertheless, compliance with the OPEC/non-OPEC deal was down only marginally, to 112%, from 119% in July, because most of the output gains came from producers (namely Libya and Nigeria) unbound by the OPEC/non-OPEC deal. Compliance excluding Venezuela fell to a record low of 47% in August, compared with 57% in July.

Libya recorded the largest m/m production increase, with output growing by 0.30 mb/d to hit 0.95 mb/d. After General Khalifa Haftar yielded control over the eastern terminals to the NOC in July, the authorities were able to ramp up output despite some minor hiccups. Nigeria also logged higher output (+80 thousand b/d m/m to 1.85 mb/d) in August, as the country continued to benefit from the end of loading disruptions in June. Iraq hiked output for the fifth month in a row, with production up m/m by 70 thousand b/d to reach 4.55 mb/d thanks to capacity increases at multiple oilfields. Saudi Arabia recorded a modest m/m increase of 40 thousand b/d, with output at 10.50 mb/d (9% compliance), as high OSPs deterred buyers, following which OSPs were reduced in September. We expect September supplies to have risen to around 10.7 mb/d. Finally, output in Angola was up m/m by 40 thousand b/d at 1.47 mb/d (360% compliance), after the Kaombo project finally began, offsetting the steep declines recorded at the country’s other offshore fields, a trend we see continuing as Kaombo gradually ramps up production.

Iran’s output fell m/m by 0.11 mb/d to 3.67 mb/d, as falling exports started to dent production, even though some of the lost exports were stored in onshore tanks. Venezuela recorded a further m/m loss, this time by 30 thousand b/d to 1.26 mb/d (849% compliance), as the production decline continued due to familiar upstream/loading problems. A late-August incident at the Jose terminal means these problems will likely intensify in September.

The average of third-party estimates we collect shows OPEC output rising m/m by 0.30 mb/d to 32.71 mb/d in August, with compliance rising to 122% (from 120% in July). The main difference was their estimate of a m/m decline of 10 thousand b/d in Angolan output to 1.46 mb/d.

We expect OPEC production to fall over the next three months, as US sanctions force most buyers of Iranian crude to reduce their purchases to zero and Tehran cuts production further after running out of storage, both onshore and offshore. Likewise, problems in Venezuela are unlikely to end any time soon, thus continuing to erode output despite the regime’s latest initiatives to improve operating conditions for IOCs.

Log in to download

Other Data review publications

Norway oil data – Jan 2019

Published 1 day ago

2019-02 Oil - Data review - Norway oil data – Jan 2019 cover
Users licensed for the data service can access our Norway oil production data.Norwegian liquids p..

Read more

Europe oil data – Dec 2018

Published 2 days ago

2019-02 Oil - Data review - Europe oil data – Dec 2018 cover
Users licensed for the data service can access our European oil products data.Extract from demand..

Read more

Middle East oil demand – Dec 2018

Published 2 days ago

2019-02 Oil - Data review - Middle East oil demand – Dec 2018 cover
Users licensed for the data service can access our Middle East oil products data.Oil demand in th..

Read more

Canada oil data – Dec 2018

Published 2 days ago

2019-02 Oil - Data review - Canada oil data – Dec 2018 cover
Users licensed for the data service can access our Canadian demand and production data..

Read more

Rig report

Published 5 days ago

No cover
Within this report you will be able to review the latest figures published by Baker Hughes by oil..

Read more